General information

Agencies That Have Reciprocal Agreements With ACERA

ACERA has reciprocal agreements with most counties in California, with the State of California (CalPERS), and with many of California’s cities. ACERA is also reciprocal with some independent public agencies in California that have full reciprocity agreements with CalPERS.  Below is a list of the counties, cities, and agencies that ACERA is reciprocal with.

County Systems (Retirement Law of 1937)

  • Contra Costa
  • Fresno
  • Imperial
  • Kern
  • Los Angeles
  • Marin
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Orange
  • Sacramento
  • San Bernadino
  • San Diego
  • San Joaquin
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Barbara
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Tulare
  • Ventura

Statewide Systems:

  • California Public Employees’ Retirement System (CalPERS)
  • California State Teachers’ Retirement System (STERS)**
  • Judge’s Retirement System I & II**

**ACERA has limited reciprocity

Other Systems/Independent public agencies in California:

  • Concord City Employees’ Pension Plan
  • Fresno City Employees’ Retirement System
  • Los Angeles City Employees’ Retirement System (LACERS)
  • Sacramento City Employees’ Retirement System
  • San Diego City Employees’ Retirement System
  • San Francisco City and County Employees’ Retirement System
  • City of San Jose Retirement System
  • Contra Costa Water District
  • East Bay Municipal Utility District
  • San Luis Obispo County Employees’ Pension Trust

No Reciprocity With University of California Retirement System (UCRS)

ACERA does not have a reciprocity agreement with the University of California Retirement System (UCRS), so previous employment with UCRS does not qualify you for reciprocity (or service purchase).

Contact Us

If you have questions about other agencies’ reciprocity with ACERA, please contact us.